Garlic Buttered Naan

Great British Baking Show: “The Beginnings” (Netflix), Season 5 (PBS)                                                   –A.K.A. The Great British Bake Off Series 3 

Episode 2:                                                                                                                                                         Signature Challenge– Two Flatbreads: Yeasted & Non-Yeasted

Yeasted Bread: Garlic Naan

 

I decided to bake naan for my yeasted flatbread! My husband and I love Indian food. We especially love naan bread when we eat out, so I decided to try and make it at home for this challenge. All the contestants on GBBO that made naan bread added a little spice to it like cumin, or coriander. I decided to keep it a little simple since it’s my first time, and we always get garlic naan or keema naan at restaurants, so this time I went for plain naan brushed with garlic butter. We’re already addicted to it, so I’m sure I’ll be making more soon and I plan on trying to make the keema naan next. It’s naan stuffed with minced lamb and spices and it’s absolutely delicious!

img_5801

I didn’t want to just make naan with nothing to go with it, so I made vegetable samosas and coconut curry with chicken and rice. The vegetable samosas are from Gordon Ramsay’s Healthy, Lean & Fit. Like the title, these samosas are supposed to be a little healthier, so there’s no potatoes like the traditional samosas and they are wrapped in rice paper. They’re pretty yummy!

For the coconut curry, I used Minimalist Baker’s recipe. I only made the curry from her recipe, and I omitted all the vegetables. I also omitted the cayenne and at least doubled the curry powder. I thought the ginger was enough spice. Lastly, I used full-fat coconut milk because it made it thicker and closer to a curry I’d eat in a restaurant. I include my modified version below, but this recipe was adapted from Minimalist Baker’s delicious curry recipe.

Lastly I used, the garlic naan recipe on Host the Toast’s blog. I looked at several different Naan recipes online and this was the one I picked. Other recipes had a longer rising time, or there was an egg and other ingredients added to it. I think this was one of the most basic naan recipes. I’d rather start basic and then experiment from there. This recipe was still ridiculously delicious and it’s very easy to make!

The only adaptations I made to the naan recipe was to replace the dairy ingredients with dairy-free ingredients. Dairy and I don’t mix so I used dairy-free butter, almond milk, and coconut milk plain yogurt. I started with letting my yeast foam up in water and sugar. Then the yeast went into my milk and yogurt and that all got poured into the dry ingredients. I kneaded for a few minutes, then let the dough rise in a greased bowl for an hour. 

img_5776

After rising, I cut it into equal sized pieces. I rolled one piece at a time out and heated up a skillet. I brushed the rolled out dough with some butter then plopped it into the skillet. Once it started bubbling I flipped it. Fresh naan served hot is the most delicious thing in the world. The yogurt and milk added into this recipe make the cooked bread super soft.

While my naan dough was rising, my husband helped me assemble the samosas. We cooked the curry and rice while the naan was cooking. We also baked chicken before the samosas went into the oven. Then when all was said and done we had a full fledged Indian meal.

Garlic Buttered Naan

Adapted from Host the Toast.

img_5806

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup warm water
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 package active dry yeast
  • 3/4 cup warm light coconut milk
  • 3/4 cup plain coconut milk yogurt
  • 4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon Kosher salt
  • 1 stick melted butter, for brushing
  • 4 cloves minced garlic

Directions:

  1. Combine yeast, sugar and water in small bowl. Let sit until foamy, about 5-10 minutes. In stand mixer, combine salt and flour. Once yeast is ready, add milk and yogurt to the yeast mixture. Pour all wet ingredients into dry ingredients and beat together with dough hook.
  2. Hand knead about 3-4 minutes, then place in a greased bowl and cover. Let rise for one hour.
  3. Cut dough into 12 equal sized portions and roll into balls. Preheat a skillet on medium heat. Roll out first ball and brush with melted butter. Place in skillet. Once it starts bubbling, flip over. There should be some dark spots. It should cook in about 2 minutes on each side. Stack cooked pieces on plate and cover with a towel to keep warm.
  4. When ready to eat, mix melted butter and minced garlic together. Brush onto naan. Enjoy!

Coconut Curry

Adapted from Minimalist Baker.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbsp coconut or olive oil
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced (2 Tbsp)
  • 1 Tbsp fresh grated ginger
  • 2 Tbsp curry powder
  • 1 14-ounce cans classic coconut milk (full-fat)
  • 1 cup veggie broth
  • Sea salt and black pepper (to taste)

Directions:

  1. Throw oil, onion, garlic, ginger, salt, and pepper into a medium/large skillet. Cook until the onions are translucent, about 5 minutes. 
  2. Add in coconut milk, vegetable broth, and curry and mix together. Bring to simmer, and let cook 5-10 minutes. Taste and add more curry if you want. That’s it!

P.S. You can use light-coconut milk if you’re trying to avoid all that fat. The sauce just won’t be as thick. 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

This Signature still isn’t finished yet! Next up I’ll be making Italian flatbreads. Check back in mid-week. 

Leave a comment